The Jump

I want to take a moment to put my best wishes out there for the people of Ukraine and everyone affected by poor government leadership. The Ukraine is showing the world what it means to stand your ground and fight for what is yours. You all are true badasses!

My journey in development, as early as it is, has been a little slower to get going that I had planned but it is all for the long term and great good. I will share my experiences in hopes that it gives something that I say or talk about will be beneficial to someone else's journey as well. I am not a blogger by any means but hopefully this will give me an avenue to get some thoughts out of my head as well.

I would like to start out by saying that it is super easy to get lost in the sea of information related to development. There are thousands upon thousands or resources and it can be pretty blinding to look at, especially initially. I found it best to find a few topics that peaked my interest and bookmark those pages and follow those people that specialize in those topics. This helped me narrow down all of the noise and at least give me a general direction to start digging in to. There are also tons of blogging and podcast people to follow if that is your thing. I would recommend touching a little of everything at first and see what draws you in. I do always wonder how good these dev "influencers" are at actually being a dev versus just creating content. Ill save that for another day.

The part of development that I really enjoy is building something from scratch. I always know what I like for something to look like in my head but I am not quite good enough to spit that onto a page just yet but I am confident that with a little practice I will get there. I enjoy simple pages that are user friendly and functional. Now every time I get to a great web page I find myself in the dev tools trying to figure out how it is built. There are truly some talented people out there creating some really nice pages.

Here are some nice design websites that I use to help get my creative juices flowing. Dribble Codewell Land-Book Awwwards Web Design Inspiration Behance

Until next time, Ryan